State of Alaska, Development of Health and Social Services Logo, Governor's Council on Disabilities & Special Education

The Governor's Council on Disabilities & Special Education has established an annual award to be given at the Annual State Special Education Conference each February. For the last 17 years, the Inclusive Practice Award has honored outstanding educators who work to ensure students with disabilities have the opportunity for an inclusive education with their peers as part of the general education curriculum and school community. Whereas numerous educators deserve recognition for a  multitude of reasons, the focus of this award is exclusively on exemplary inclusive practices. An additional award will be given specifically to a special education paraeducator that exemplifies best practices in supporting students in classrooms. 

  • Involving parents as equal partners in their child’s education
  • Promoting inclusive practices that allow students with disabilities to be included within the classroom, with peers and in the school community
  • Modifying curricula or providing support services that enables access to the general curriculum, classroom or school community.

This year, Christena Towarak of Unalakleet and the Shaktoolik School Special Education team were nominated for this award. We are very proud of you all for this nomination and thank you for your dedication to providing exemplary Special Education services. 

2021 Paraeducator of the Year Nominee: Christina Towarak, Bering Strait School District

2021 Paraeducator of the Year Nominee: Lisa Kelley, Janelle Paniptchuk, Gail Paniptchuk, Jason Polcyn, Desiree Rock (Bering Strait School District)